Search
Menu
Destination I Do

A Peachy Malibu Wedding

Words by Sarah Padilla
Photos courtesy of This Modern Romance

It’s not easy to get away from it all when you live in crowded central California. But when Tyman and Ashley wed just miles from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles, they managed to create a tranquil and fun escape for a day – with memories to last a lifetime.

The couple knew they wanted to be married outdoors and surrounded by trees, and the Upper Las Virgenes Canyon Open Space Preserve, overlooking picturesque Malibu Canyon, created the close and convenient getaway they were looking for.  “It was the first place we visited and we fell in love instantly!” says Ashley. “It’s extremely secluded, set right in the middle of a nature preserve with the closest building miles away.”

The quaint location set the scene for an equally lovely ceremony and reception with a vintage feel. Using the natural surroundings to their advantage, the couple – with the help of wedding planner Jesi Haack Design and florist JL Designs – kept décor to a minimum, adding only potted lavender and a few crocheted pieces to the aisle. The bridal party’s peachy attire and a variety of spring florals added refreshing pops of color. 

While the celebration included 145 of their closest family members and friends, Ashley and Tyman added special touches to make it more intimate – from being married by Ashley’s uncle, to perfectly timing dinner to coincide with a canyon sunset. Guests were invited to visit a “love note” station to draft heartfelt letters which were later mailed to the couple. Tyman even managed to pull off a wedding-day surprise when, unbeknownst to Ashley, he walked down the aisle in a vintage red boxing robe to the “Rocky” theme song.

Ashley recalls one of her favorite parts of the reception, sitting at a sweetheart table overlooking Malibu Canyon with her new husband. “It was our first moment to really be alone and soak it all in,” she says. “We were surrounded by the people we love and who are the most important to us. It’s a moment we’ll never experience again, but will always remember!”

Photographer: This Modern Romance, thismodernromance.com, Ceremony/Reception Site: Upper Las Virgines Open Space Preserve, lamountains.com, Wedding Planner: Jesi Haack Design, jesihaackdesign.com, Gown: Alvina Valenta, jlmcouture.com/alvina-valenta, Florist: JL Designs, jldesignsandevents.com, Groom’s Clothing: Brooks Brothers, brooksbrothers.com, Bridesmaids/Groomsmen's Clothing: Alisa Benay/Brooks Brothers, alisabenay.com & brooksbrothers.com, Invitations/Stationery: Cherish Paperie and Pitbulls & Posies, cherishpaperie.com & pitbullsandposies.com, Cake/Desserts: Cupcakes Couture of Manhattan Beach, cupcakescouturemb.com, DJ: DJ Kahn & Austin Hendrix Productions, djkahn.com & austinhendrixproductions.com, Hair/Makeup: Ten.Eleven Makeup, 1011makeup.com, Catering: Huntington Catering, huntingtoncateringcompany.com, Video: Floataway Studios, floatawaystudios.com, Rentals: Classic Party Rentals, classicpartyrentals.com, Photo Booth: Shoutoutbooth, shoutoutbooth.com, Organic Spray Tan: Plush Tan, plushtan.com, Special Thanks: Be Inspired PR, beinspiredpr.com

Visit the Blog

Related Articles & Advice

Bahamas Wedding Planner - Chic Bahamas Weddings ad-160x600 Palace Q1 2020 Destify4 Florida Keys 160

Welcome to our newsletter !