Search
Menu
Destination I Do

Love in Punta Mita

Words by Jennifer Stein
Photos courtesy of Chris + Lynn Photographers

You know the saying, “Love knows no boundaries?” This is a story to prove that saying true.

Lacey and Robert met in L.A. when she moved there to pursue a career in the music industry. After one of their dear mutual friends passed away unexpectedly, it brought them together and their relationship ventured beyond friendship. “To get through our shared grief, we leaned on each other and truly became soul mates,” recalls Lacey.

A birthday celebration would lead to something bigger and eventually determine where they would say their “I do’s.”

“Robert proposed to me the day before my birthday on a beach in Punta Mita, Mexico,” says Lacey. “He had planned a surprise birthday party for me and flew down three of my best girlfriends. It was definitely the best birthday I have ever had and probably one of the best weekends of my life. That's why we decided to get married at the beautiful St. Regis Punta Mita. There is just something magical about that place and it only holds positive memories for us.”

Their loved ones were beyond excited and approximately 100 guests traveled there to celebrate with them.

Lacey says planning a destination wedding was at first a challenge, but her mom knew Todd Fiscus of Todd Events in Dallas, and after bringing his team on board, it was all easy going from there. One of Lacey’s priorities was finding the perfect photographer. “I searched everywhere and I finally, luckily, found Chris + Lynn,” says Lacey.

At the St. Regis Punta Mita Resort on a clear platform over a pool of water overlooking the ocean, Robert and Lacey made their commitment official. “Everyone we loved was there,” reminisces Lacey. “The sun started to set as we said our vows and it was just a perfect moment.”

The reception had a true party atmosphere with hired DJ, Lucy Wrubel, and The Cowling Band, getting the group dancing and having a blast. “When the Mexican sombreros, maracas and coconuts came out, things got crazy!” says Lacey.

Lacey’s favorite moment of the day was hard to pin down because as she recalls, it was all a blur. “I’ll never forget walking, or I should say dancing, down to the beach to the sound of dozens of mariachis all playing. Our first dance under the thousands of twinkling, hanging crystals in the tents was perfect.”

Ceremony/Reception Site: Punta Mita, Mexico: The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, starwoodhotels.com/stregis/puntamita, Photographer: CHRIS + LYNN Photographers, chrispluslynn.com, Wedding Planner: Todd Events - Todd Fiscus & Mary Wright Shah, toddevents.com, Wedding Gown Designer: Ines Di Santo, inesdisanto.com, Reception Dress Designer: Herve Leger, herveleger.com, Florist: Todd Events, toddevents.com, Groom's Clothing Designer: J Crew suit with Louis Vuitton tie, jcrew.com & louisvuitton.com, Shoes: Christian Louboutin, us.christianlouboutin.com, Other bridal jewelry: Diamond earrings by Sue Gragg, suegraggpreciousjewels.com, Music/DJ: Lucy Wrubel, lucywrubel.com, Band: The Cowling Band from West Coast Music, westcoastmusic.com

Visit the Blog

Related Articles & Advice

Bahamas Wedding Planner - Chic Bahamas Weddings ad-160x600 Palace Q1 2020 Destify4 Florida Keys 160

Welcome to our newsletter !