Search
Menu
Destination I Do

Sonoma Destination Wedding

Words by Carolyn Gerin
Photos courtesy of Andi Hatch Photography

What happens when you team up bride Anne, Creative Manager at Williams Sonoma, and groom Jim, museum installation extraordinaire, to plan an elegant, eclectic wedding in Sonoma’s wine country? A mix of DIY spirit, personally designed elements, foodie fun, rustic romance and pure originality.

Serenaded by a classical trio playing Pachelbel’s Canon, Anne, in a stunning Selia Yang gown, exchanged vows with her Calvin Klein-clad groom under an old oak tree amidst a lushly landscaped private estate in an intimate ceremony attended by 65 close friends and family. Anne’s mother, who is a writer, composed a heartfelt poem for the couple and the officiate sealed the union with vows they wrote themselves.

The wedding theme sprung from a "rustic meets elegant" sensibility, incorporating design elements of an oak tree and rustic shed on the property and informing custom-designed invitations, hand-stamped place cards, favor hangtags, welcome gift bags and hand-built wooden directional signs. The wedding favors, homemade mini blueberry pies inside canning jars, were made by Jim’s mother. A "candy bar" was set up in vintage apothecary jars alongside a French macaroon tree. A & J moss-covered initials were hung around the property. Blush peonies spilled out of antique silver vases on linen-covered tables laden with white china, vintage settings and mercury glass votives.
A white canopy with crystal chandeliers hung over the bridal table, while vintage French country furniture created intimate lounge areas for guest relaxation.

Elaine Bell Catering served fresh grilled halibut, beef tenderloin, mache salad, local Cow Girl Creamery cheese, wine from the vineyard and Blue Bottle coffee with dessert (the location of their first date!). Dancing and revelry was trumped only by Anne’s surprise: a vintage white Packard convertible getaway car to whisk them away to enjoy their first, perfect moments alone as Mr. and Mrs. under starry skies.

Photographer: Andi Hatch Photography, andihatchphoto.com, Day-of Coordinator: EL Events, elainelan.events@gmail.com, Caterer: Elaine Bell Catering, elainebellcatering.com, Rentals: Wine Country Party, winecountryparty.com, Canopy & Chandelier: The Lux Productions, thelux.com, Vintage Furniture: One True Love Vintage Rentals, onetruelovevintage.com, Officiant: Kimberly Thompson with A Beautiful Ceremony, abeautifulceremonynapavalley.com, Ceremony Musicians: The Sterling Flute Trio, sfstrings.com/sterling.htm, DJ: David Carvalho, playagencysf.com/David_Carvalho, Bride’s Makeup: Audrey Crandell with Glowing Bridal, glowingbridal.com, Bride’s Hair: Stella Rickett, stellastevenshairdesigns.com, Getaway Packard Car: Convertible Wine Tours, ccwinetours.com, On-site Tailor: SewHeidi Wedding De-Tailor, sewheidi@earthlink.com, Wedding Dress Tailor: Janene’s Bridal, janenesbridalboutique.com, Wedding Invitations & Collateral: Rachel Vrana (bridesmaid), Letterpress Printer: La Bonne Vie Studio, lbvstudio.com, Florist: Cherries Flowers, cherriesflowers.com, Bridesmaids/Groomsmen’s Clothing Designer: Watters & Watters/Calvin Klein, watters.com/calvinklein.com, Groom’s Clothing Designer: Calvin Klein, calvinklein.com, Bride’s Shoes: Jimmy Choo, jimmychoo.com, Bride’s Accessories: Haute Bride, hautebride.com, Gown Designer: Selia Yang, New York, seliayang.com

Visit the Blog

Related Articles & Advice

Bahamas Wedding Planner - Chic Bahamas Weddings ad-160x600 Palace Q1 2020 Destify4 Florida Keys 160

Welcome to our newsletter !